cellcard cellcard cellcard

NEC to set senate voting list

Ros Chanveasna / Khmer Times Share:
Interior Minister Sar Kheng. KT/ Chor Sokunthea

Interior Minister Sar Kheng has instructed provincial governors to provide the names of commune councillors currently in office to organize the voting list for the upcoming senate election.


In a letter sent on Monday, Mr Kheng ordered governors to provide the name of each commune chief to be added onto the list recognized by district and provincial governors which must be sent to the National Election Committee by December 28.

The NEC has registered four political parties, CPP, Funcinpec, the Khmer National United Party, and the Cambodian Youth Party, to join the February 25 senate election.

There are 62 seats in the senate. Fifty-eight are elected by commune councillors, while two are appointed directly by the king and two by the National Assembly.

There are 11,572 commune councillors across the kingdom. Earlier this month, the NEC reallocated 5,007 former CNRP commune seats to six political parties, with the majority going to the ruling CPP.

The CPP took a total of 4,548 seats, Funcinpec was given 239, the Khmer National United Party 201 seats, the Cambodian Nationality Party ten seats, the Cambodia Youth Party three seats, and the Cambodia Indigenous People Democracy Party three seats.

Som Sorida, deputy secretary general of the NEC, said the final voting list for the senate election will be completed by December 30.

Previous Article

Couples join blessing festival

Next Article

National Assembly appoints lawmaker