ana-air canadia-bank Silk-air nissan acleda cab-bank

National Assembly approves its new Vice President

Ven Rathavong / Khmer Times No Comments Share:
National Assembly lawmakers vote to support new of NA Vice President. Supplied

The National Assembly voted to ratify a lawmaker from the royalist Funcipec Party as its First Vice President.   On Friday You Hokry replaced Kem Sokha, who had led the abrogated CNRP.

Mr Hokry was Second Vice President of NA until 2006.  He was nominated for the new position by Prince Norodom Ranariddh and his party (Funcinpec).

Of the 116 attending parliamentarians 112 voted for his approval, 2 against, and 2 abstained.  Heng Samrin, President of NA, acknowledged the result and welcomed the new Vice President to the NA.

Mr Hokry said he was highly appreciative of obtaining the position and    committed himself to using his knowledge and experience to assist the NA in furthering peace and development in the Kingdom, and to serve its people.

“The dissolution of CNRP is [a thing of] the past. For me, we must focus on the present and the future,” Mr. Hokry said.

The plenary session also voted to acknowledge the new heads of five NA commissions. They are all Funcinpec lawmakers.

Nheb Bun Chin: Commission on Human Rights, Complaints, and Investigation.

Yim Savy: Commission on Planning, Investment, Agriculture, Rural Development, Environment, and Water Resources.

Phan Sethi: Commission on Education, Youth, Sport, Religious Affairs, Culture and Tourism.

Chap Nhalivoud: Commission on Health Care, Social & Veterans’ Affairs, Youth Rehabilitation, Labor, Vocational Training & Women’s Affairs.

Por Bunsry: Commission on Investigation and Anti-Corruption.

Related Posts

Previous Article

PM Hun Sen appointed global ambassador for tourism

Next Article

Minister tackles factory faintings