cellcard cellcard

NA fills vacant assembly seats and replacements to the NEC

Khuon Narim / Khmer Times Share:
New lawmakers from the parliament showed up at parliament. KT/Chor Sokunthea

The National Assembly has in a decision today,  recognized 16 new lawmakers from the ruling Cambodian People’s Party and voted to support three replacement  members of the  National Election Committee

Heng Samrin, president of the National Assembly announced the validation of the 16 new lawmakers and they will be sworn in later today at the Royal Palace.

Thus, the National Assembly has now filled the 55 seats vacated by the now defunct CNRP.

The 11 new lawmakers were nominated by the ruling CPP after two political parties,  League for Democracy Party and Anti-Khmer Poverty Party declined the seats reallocated to them by  the NEC.

The National Assembly today also had a confidential vote  to support the nomination of three  members to the NEC to replace the seats vacated by Kouy Bunroeun, Rong Chhun and Te Manyrong who had resigned from the election body.

The replacements are  Nuth Sokhom, Hel Sarath and Dim Sovannarom.

Previous Article

60 percent increase in drug busts and seisures

Next Article

Defense minister responds to US over visa restriction