cellcard cellcard cellcard

ASEAN+3 strengthens emergency liquidity programme

VNA Share:

The Republic of Korea (RoK), China, Japan and ten ASEAN nations including Cambodia had strengthened their emergency liquidity programme to better cope with possible financial crises.

The move came after a revised agreement of the regional financial safety net, known as the Chiang Mai Initiative Multilateralisation (CMIM), went into effect earlier on the day, the RoK Ministry of Economy and Finance said in a statement.


The 13 nations agreed to revise the agreement in May last year to reinforce financial support, including the flexibility to extend the period of provision under the IMF-linked portion of the CMIM agreement.


They also agreed to add an overarching legal basis for conditionality in order for the CMIM to support members in addressing their risks and vulnerabilities through policy recommendations, as well as financial support.


The CMIM, launched in 2010, refers to the $240 billion pool that can be tapped through currency swap deals in times of financial crisis.


ASEAN comprises Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Thailand, Singapore and Vietnam.

Related Posts

Previous Article

More rain expected this week

Next Article

Thai, Lao borders stay shut despite calls for reopening