ana-air canadia-bank Silk-air nissan acleda cab-bank

Entry ban for passengers from six countries extended

No Comments Share:
Scenes like this are a thing of the past as most air travel has come to a standstill. KT

The travel restrictions enforced on passengers from six countries to curb the spread of COVID-19 pandemic has been extended.

The order was issued on March 16 at the height of Cambodia’s spike in Novel Coronavirus cases and applies to Spain, Italy, France, Germany, United States and Iran.

In an order issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation dated April 16, it said that all Cambodian missions abroad have been asked to enforce this order and its extension until further notice.

In addition, “Citizens must not travel to Europe, the US and Iran unless going abroad is mandatory. All national and sub-national level officials must not attend meetings held in Europe, the US and Iran.”

The ministry said the temporary ban was in force because the six countries have increasing numbers of COVID-19 cases.

In another statement dated March 27, the government said it will suspend visa exemption policy and issuance of tourist visa, e-visa and visa on arrival to all foreigners for a period of one month.

Any foreigner wishing to travel to the Kingdom of Cambodia must obtain a prior visa from Cambodian missions abroad, the statement reads, adding that an individual must provide a medical certificate, issued by competent health authorities of their country no more than 72 hours prior to the date of travel, certifying that they are not tested positive for the Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19).

This policy has also been extended until such time the COVID-19 situation is relieved based on a joint assessment of the Ministry of Health and WHO.

Related Posts

Previous Article

Collective farming experiment in Siem Reap’s Banteay Srey to ensure food security

Next Article

ZERO Covid-19 positive cases in Cambodia for fifth consecutive day, ZERO recovery