cellcard cellcard cellcard

World No.1 Nadal wins ATP Sportsmanship Award

Xinhua / Share:
Rafael Nadal of Spain poses with his ATP World No. 1 trophy following the singles group match against Stefanos Tsitsipas of Greece at the ATP World Tour Finals 2019 in London, Britain on Nov. 15, 2019. (Xinhua/Han Yan)

LONDON (Xinhua) – World No. 1 tennis player Rafael Nadal has been voted the winner of ATP’s Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award on Thursday.

Nadal, who had been honored with the 2019 ATP Tour No. 1 trophy during the ATP Finals, became the winner of the player-voted category for the second straight year and third overall.

Nadal’s arch rival Roger Federer won the Fans’ Favorite Award for a record-extending 17th straight year, along with American brothers Bob and Mike Bryan, who won for the 14th time.

Former World No. 1 Andy Murray, who had undergone hip surgery in January, was selected as Comeback Player of the Year after returning to win the Fever-Tree Championships doubles title and the singles title at the European Open in Antwerp.

Italy’s Matteo Berrettini took home Most Improved Player of the Year after climbing to a career-high No. 8 and qualifying for the ATP Finals. His 18-year-old compatriot Jannik Sinner climbed from outside the top 700 to a career-high No. 78 and took the Next Gen ATP Finals title, earning him the Newcomer of the Year award.

After guiding Russia’s Daniil Medvedev to an ATP Tour-best 59 match wins and nine finals in 2019, Frenchman Gilles Cervara was named as ATP Coach of the Year. Tony Roche was selected as the winner of the inaugural Tim Gullikson Career Coach award, which recognizes coaches who have had a significant impact on tennis on and off the court.

Other winners included Colombians Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah, who took the award for ATP Tour No. 1 doubles pair. Kevin Anderson received the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award, and Courtney Walsh of The Australian was the recipient of the Ron Bookman Media Excellence Award.

Previous Article

Val d’Isere women’s downhill scrapped again

Next Article

Cambodia gets FIM membership