cellcard cellcard cellcard

Supreme Council of Magistracy members elected

Pech Sotheary / Khmer Times Share:
Ang Vong Vathana
Justice Minister Ang Vong Vathana with bar association president Suon Visal. KT/Chor Sokunthea

The Justice Ministry has announced that four candidates were elected as members of the Supreme Council of Magistracy for its 2019-2024 mandate to assist King Norodom Sihamoni in ensuring judicial independence.


Justice Minister Ang Vong Vathana said that the four included Chay Chandaravan, elected by judges of the Higher Courts, Seng Bunkheang, elected by prosecutors of the Prosecutor General of the Higher Courts, Iv Borin, elected by judges of the Court of First Instances, and Srea Ratanak, elected by prosecutors of the Court of First Instances.

Sam Pracheameanith, SCM secretary-general, yesterday said that according to the Law on the Organisation and Functioning of the SCM, each member will serve for five years and end their terms once new members are elected.

“For the first mandate, members were elected on November 13, 2014, so their term will end on November 13, 2019,” he said.

Mr Ratanak yesterday expressed his commitment to serving the SCM in accordance with the law.

“I will try my best to serve the SCM’s interests in accordance with the law, especially continuing to complete the remaining action plan of the SCM after its successful implementation in the past,” he said. “Moreover, I will also fulfil all work which is in line with the SCM’s interests.”


Previous Article

Kingdom reflects on status of Paris Peace Agreements

Next Article

Hun Sen fires back at critics over recent Europe trip