cellcard cellcard

Sub-decrees approve creation of new districts

Taing Vida / Khmer Times Share:
Phnom Penh will see two new districts. KT/Mai Vireak

Prime Minister Hun Sen has issued two sub-decrees reclassifying two communes in Phnom Penh as districts, as per a request made by Interior Minister Sar Kheng last week.

In the separate sub-decrees, obtained by Khmer Times yesterday, Boeng Keng Kang I, Boeng Keng Kang II, Boeng Keng Kang III, Olympic, Tomnop Tek, Tuol Svay Prey I, and Tuol Svay Prey II communes are to be reclassified as Boeng Keng Kang district.

It noted that Olympic, Tomnop Toek, Tuol Svay Prey I and Toul Svay Prey II currently belong to Chamkar Mon district, and will make up the new Boeng Keng Kang district.

The establishment of Kambol district also took six communes from Por Senchey district and one from Dangkao district.

These communes include Kambol, Kantork, Ovlork, Snao, Phloeung Chheh Roteh, Boeng Thom and Prateah Lang.

Prak Sam Oeun, director-general of the Interior Ministry’s general administration department, yesterday said reclassification was necessary in order to ensure optimal sub-national level efficiency.

“Firstly, the ministry noticed a growth in population in those two areas,” Mr Sam Oeun said. “Secondly, it helps to ensure convenient access to public services. Thirdly, it helps security forces tackle social issues.”

He added that the ministry has assigned a working group in order to recruit potential civil servants to serve in the new areas by May.

Boeng Keng Kang and Kambol districts will consist of 17 councilors each, the sub-decrees said.

City Hall spokesman Met Meas Pheakdey yesterday said officials will conduct meetings with those involved in the process and organise frameworks for the management of the two new districts.

Previous Article

Protesters arrested over clash freed

Next Article

Two women charged over procurement