cellcard cellcard

CPP members replace reassigned lawmakers

Taing Vida / Khmer Times Share:

Thirty-eight new CPP lawmakers took their oaths at the Royal Palace yesterday to replace elected parliamentary members who resigned in order to keep their government posts.

The former 38 lawmakers from the CPP were reassigned to be ministers, senior ministers and secretaries of state in the government and therefore had to forfeit their lawmaker posts.

National Assembly president Heng Samrin said yesterday that a total of 38 CPP members replaced the outgoing lawmakers.

The CPP won a landslide victory in the 2018 national election, securing all 125 parliamentary seats.

CPP spokesman Sok Eysan said yesterday that a majority of the 38 CPP members are young politicians, noting only a handful previously held lawmaker positions.

“The party thinks the [young politicians] are qualified enough to be lawmakers,” Mr Eysan said. “Only a handful of the 38 new lawmakers were previous members of the National Assembly.”

Yesterday’s ceremony was attended by 77 lawmakers, and the National Assembly is set to continue its meeting to assign the lawmakers to ten commissions and reassign parliamentary duties today.

Previous Article

USAID awards $21 million to Tetra Tech company to improve Prey Lang conservation

Next Article

PM: $4.15 million spent on pregnant garment workers