National Assembly elects its president, two vice presidents

Taing Vida / Khmer Times No Comments Share:
All 125 lawmakers today elected the National Assembly’s president. KT/ Mai Vireak

All 125 lawmakers today elected the National Assembly’s president, two vice presidents, chairmen and vice chairmen of the 10 commissions and gave a vote of confidence for the new government.

Heng Samrin was re-elected as the president, Nguon Nhel as first vice president, and Khuon Sodary as second vice president.

Senior ministers Chea Sophara, Aun Pornmoniroth, and Prak Sokhonn become Deputy Prime Ministers among the 10 Deputy Prime Ministers, and there are 17 senior ministers.

28 current ministers secured their positions and Mao Havanall, Secretary of State for Civil Aviation was designated to become the minister in charge of the Secretariat of Civil Aviation.

Prime Minister Hun Sen pledged to serve the nation successfully.

“I pledge to all the people that I will sacrifice myself to lead the government and to ensure that our platforms are carried out successfully,” Mr Hun Sen said.

Delegate Ministers attached to the Prime Minister, Secretary of State and Undersecretary of State will not be part of the cabinet. The royal decree to appoint these positions is due by this evening.

Mr Hun Sen appointed Sar Sokha, son of Deputy Prime Minister Sar Kheng as a Secretary of State at the Ministry of Education and he will resign from the National Assembly.

National Assembly’s Secretary General Leng Penglong said that some lawmakers who are holding government positions will resign from the National Assembly.

Mr Hun Sen and his new government officials will take oaths before the King this evening.

Share and Like this post

Related Posts

Previous Article

Three top military commanders appointed as senior ministers

Next Article

China to heighten police training