cellcard cellcard cellcard

Cricket one-day Super League launched to determine World Cup spots

AFP Share:
England’s Jos Buttler runs out New Zealand’s Martin Guptill to win the super-over to win the 2019 Cricket World Cup final between England and New Zealand at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London on July 14, 2019. AFP

New Delhi, India (AFP) – A new one-day international Super League to determine qualification for the 50-over World Cup in 2023 will launch this week, the International Cricket Council announced Monday.

Thursday’s one-day international between world champions England and Ireland in Southampton will be the inaugural match of the 13-nation league, with World Cup hosts India and the next seven highest-placed teams automatically qualifying for the 2023 edition.

The ICC’s 12 full members and the Netherlands will take part with each side playing four home and four away three-match series.

The coronavirus pandemic has caused havoc with the cricket calendar with the 50-over and T20 World Cups pushed back. The start of the Super League was also delayed due to Covid-19.

The ICC said it was working with national boards to find dates for series in the new Super League to be “safely and practically rescheduled.”

“The decision last week to move the (50-over) World Cup back to late 2023 gives us more time to schedule any games lost due to COVID-19 and preserve the integrity of the qualification process, meaning it will be decided on the field of play, which is important,” said ICC general manager Geoff Allardice.

Under the previous qualifying system for last year’s World Cup in England, the top eight teams in the ICC rankings were joined by the top two sides from a qualifying tournament to make up the 10-team event.

“We’re looking forward to playing cricket again and to the ICC men’s World Cup Super League,” said England’s limited-overs captain Eoin Morgan.

“Given the situation, it will be quite different to the last time we played at home, when we lifted the World Cup at Lord’s, but it’s nice to be starting our journey for the next edition of the tournament.”

The later qualifying tournament will feature five of the 13 sides that fail to get through directly against five associate nations.

The start of the Super League comes nearly a year after the ICC launched a world Test championship between the nine top-ranked teams.

Related Posts

Previous Article

PP Crown falter in bid to overtake Svay Rieng

Next Article

Ronaldo powers Juventus to ninth straight Serie A title