cellcard cellcard

Prey Veng, Tbong Khmum to battle for Hun Sen Cup prov’l title

Jose Rodriguez T. Senase / Khmer Times Share:
Prey Veng FC beat Siem Reap FC twice in the semis to book a finals seat in the Hun Sen Cup 2020. Facebook

The football teams of Prey Veng and Tbong Khmum will battle it out for the provincial title in the Hun Sen Cup 2020.

The championship game between Prey Veng FC and Tbong Khmum FC will be held at the Olympic Stadium on July 29, according to information from the Cambodia National Competitions Committee (CNCC).  The game will start at 6:00pm.

Siem Reap FC will play Kep FC in the battle for third place at the same venue staring 3:00pm.

Prey Veng FC and Tbong Khmum FC booked their finals seats after beating their respective opponents in the semi-finals.

Prey Veng FC beat Siem Reap FC by an aggregate score of 9-0. The team out of Prey Veng province beat Siem Reap FC, 2-0, during their first semi-final meeting on July 15, followed by a 7-0 thrashing in their next semis outing on July 22.

In the other semi-final series, Tbong Khmum FC struggled to dispatch Kep FC, only winning by an aggregate score of 5-2. In their first semis match on July 15, Tbong Khmum FC edged Kep FC, 2-1, before winning their second match a week later by a bigger margin, 3-1.

This year, there were 17 teams, divided into five groups, which competed in the Provincial Stage. In addition to the aforementioned teams, the other competitors include Kampong Chhnang FC, Pursat FC, Kampong Speu FC, Preah Vihear FC, Banteay Meanchey FC, Battambang FC, Kampong Thom FC, Kandal FC, Takeo FC, Sihanoukville FC, Kampot FC, Ratanakiri FC and Koh Kong FC.

The Hun Sen Cup, which is named after Prime Minister Hun Sen, starts with a Provincial Stage, followed by the National Stage. In the National Stage, Cambodian League clubs join the competition.

The Hun Sen Cup 2020 was suspended in late March of this year because of the coronavirus pandemic. The tournament resumed early last month.

Last year, Boeng Ket FC beat Preah Khan Reach Svay Rieng FC, 1-1 (5-4), in a penalty shootout thriller to win the championship trophy.  In 2018, Ministry of National Defense FC (now Tiffy Army FC) defeated the National Police FC, 3-0, to win the prestigious competition.

Hun Sen Cup is Cambodia’s premier knockout football competition and has been held every year since 2007.

The tournament put on an added importance after the Asian Football Confederation decided this month to give an AFC Cup slot to the winner of the Hun Sen Cup beginning 2021. Prior to that, only the winner of the Cambodian League gets a slot in the continental championship.

Related Posts

Previous Article

CL: Manchester United, Chelsea seal top-four spots

Next Article

Tiffy Army score three goals in a 4-minute span, crush Soltilo