cellcard cellcard

Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam pledge to promote people’s livelihood in Development Triangle Area

Ben Sokhean / Khmer Times Share:
Prime Ministers of Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam pledge to improve livelihood of  people living in the Development Triangle Area. Facebook

Prime Minister Hun Sen, Lao Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith and Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc pledged to improve livelihood of  people living in the Development Triangle Area.

Mr Hun Sen on Sunday had a cordial breakfast with Mr Nguyen Xuan and Mr Thongloun in Bangkok on the sideline of Asean Summit and  discussed the Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam Development Triangle Area.

Cambodia released a statement yesterday, saying that the three prime ministers gave “high value and praise for positive result” of the three countries’ working group which has  sought funds to develop the Development Triangle Area.

“The  leaders of the three countries have vowed to work together to make the Development Triangle Area (DTV) to become new economic pole for the three countries, especially making a joint effort to promote better livelihood for people in the three countries,” the statement said.

The CLV-DTA was established in 1999 and initially included Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Dak Lak, and Dak Nong provinces in Vietnam, Sekong, Attapeu and Saravan provinces in Laos, and Stung Treng, Ratanakiri, and Mondulkiri provinces in Cambodia.

In 2009, the three countries agreed to add Vietnam’s Binh Phuoc province, Cambodia’s Kratie province, and Laos’ Champasak province to the area. By 2018, Vietnam invested in 39 projects in Kratie, worth a combined $983 million.

Previous Article

Deadly construction collapse mounts to 28

Next Article

Governor of Sihanoukville to step down following deadly construction collapse