cellcard cellcard

New district created in Kampong Thom province

Khy Sovuthy / Khmer Times Share:
The new district includes eight communes. Supplied

Prime Minister Hun Sen has issued a sub-decree dividing a part of Baray district in Kampong Thom province into eight communes to make a new district called Taing Kork.

The eight communes include: Pongro, Chra Neang, Chra Loang, Triel, Sou Yorng, Sra Lao, Svay Phloeung and Andoung Por, with the District Hall located in Sou Yorng.

The sub-decree noted that ministries and Kampong Thom provincial officials must facilitate the creation of the new district, as stipulated in the sub-decree.

Provincial Governor Sok Lou yesterday said the creation of Taing Kork is in response to the province’s increasing population.

“It was split from Baray district because Baray district was too big,” Mr Lou said, noting that 41,553 hectares of land and 72,367 residents went to the creation of Taing Kork. “I think that creating a new district will provide benefits such as easier control and easier access to public services.”

“It can also help us prevent crimes and provide security for villages and communes,” he added.

Previous Article

Future of EBA discussed during AEM sideline meeting

Next Article

Out of a job, but not down and out