Russia roll out the welcome mat

Ismail Vorajee / Khmer Times No Comments Share:

Russia have rolled out the welcome mat to visitors as the country gears up to host the 2018 World Cup in under a months’ time.

Journalists, bloggers, and media representatives descending on the country will be able to avail themselves of regular news conferences, briefings and video linkups in specially constructed press centres in each host city.

They will also be able to join guided tours and workshops with each press centre showcasing local regional achievements in a special dedicated area. World Cup matches will also be broadcast live.

The city press centres will operate in each World Cup host city of Kaliningrad, Kazan, Moscow, Nizhny Novgorod, Rostov-on-Don, Samara, Saransk, Sochi, St.Petersburg, Volgograd and Yekaterinburg.

The facility will host media representatives who do not have official FIFA accreditation as well as for independent journalists and bloggers who are going to engage in professional activity in Russia to cover the festival of football.

Speaking earlier this year, Counsellor Dmitry Yudin at a press briefing at the Embassy of the Russian Federation here in Phnom Penh said Cambodian football fans heading to Russia for the 2018 FIFA World Cup should know that Russia is open and ready to welcome visitors.

“There are no security concerns. Russia is a safe and a stable country. Organising such sporting events is a priority for our country,” said Counsellor Yudin.

“We expect that many people from around the world will visit Russia to celebrate with us – not only sporting matches but also experience the culture of Russia,” he remarked.

The quadrennial tournament will take in 11 host cities – all but one of which is located in the European region of Russia to facilitate easy travel for fans.

The month-long competition gets underway on June 14, with the hosts’ facing Saudi Arabia in the curtain-raiser at the 81,000-capacity Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.

A total of 32 nations from around the world will descend on Russia to battle for football’s greatest honour, with Asia represented by Saudi Arabia, Iran, Japan, South Korea and Australia.

Germany are defending champions having sensationally defeated Argentina at the 2014 finals in Brazil.

Share and Like this post

Related Posts

Previous Article

Griezmann set for Atletico goodbyes

Next Article

Barcelona’s unbeaten season ended by five-star Levante