cellcard cellcard cellcard

Top Senate leaders re-elected in first session

Khy Sovuthy / Khmer Times Share:

The Senate yesterday in its first session since its election in February voted to re-elect its top leaders for the new mandate.

After King Norodom Sihamoni left the session, the process to elect a president and two vice presidents was presided over by Mom Chhim Huy, the Senate’s eldest member.

All 62 new senators voted unanimously to re-elect Say Chhum as president, Ney Pena as first vice president, and Tep Ngorn as second vice president for the new mandate of the Senate.

Mr Chhum, speaking on behalf of himself and his two vice presidents, thanked the senators for their votes and for allowing them to continue serving the nation.

“We hope the Senate will work harder to develop Cambodia as a state of law in solidarity, agreement, forgiveness, and cooperation with each other,” said Mr Chhum.

At about 3pm yesterday, all 62 new senators went to the Royal Palace to be sworn in.

According to the official Senate election results issued by the NEC on March 4, the ruling CPP received 11,202 votes, Funcinpec received 276, the Khmer National United Party received 182 and the Cambodian Youth Party received three.

The CPP scooped up all 58 Senate seats up for grabs. Four remaining seats are filled by appointments made by the King and the National Assembly.

King Sihamoni has already appointed two senators, Princess Norodom Arun Rasmy, an advisor to the King, and Oum Somanine, an official working at the Royal Palace.

The National Assembly on April 9 elected two senators, Suon Mean and Chea Chantevy, from the royalist Funcinpec party to round out the new 62-seat Senate.

Previous Article

Election observers registering

Next Article

Service centres opened in Thailand