cellcard cellcard cellcard

Senate elections start

Ven Rathavong / Khmer Times Share:
Prime Minister Hun Sen casts his ballot at the polling station in Kandal province. KT/ Chor Sokunthea

On Sunday morning the National Election Committee opened the polling stations for the senate election, which decides how the 58 available senate seats will be divided between the four contesting parties.

These parties are: the (ruling) CPP, the Cambodian Youth Party, the Khmer National United Party, and (the royalist) Funcinpec.

Only members of parliament and commune councilors are eligible to vote.  These 11,695 officials have 33 polling stations, in eight regions across the country, in which to vote.

It is estimated that the polls will be able to close before the official deadline of 3 pm; and, as yet, the voting operations are running smoothly and problem-free.

Prime Minister Hun Sen went to vote in Kandal’s Takhmao Township.  Most commune councilors and parliamentarians were early to visit the polling stations in the provinces they represent.

The NEC has allowed 12 associations and NGOs, totaling 276 observers, to oversee the electoral process.

Previous Article

Handkerchief cause of woman’s stomach pains

Next Article

Kem Ley’s brother forms new party