cellcard cellcard

NEC to hold draw for ballot line-up

Khmer Times Share:
The entrance to the National Election Committee’s office . KT/Chor Sokunthea

The National Election Committee (NEC) will hold a public draw to determine the order in which political parties will appear on the ballots for February 25th’s senate elections.

Friday’s NEC notification stated that the Supreme Patriarchs, Venerable Tep Vong and Venerable Bour Kry, will hold the draw at the NEC office, and the results announced, on Monday.

Four parties are registered with the NEC: the ruling CPP (Cambodian People’s Party), the royalist Funcinpec, the Khmer National United Party and the Cambodian Youth Party.

There are 62 senate seats to be filled. Fifty-eight are elected by commune councillors, two are appointed by the King and two by the National Assembly.

Of the almost 12,000 commune councillors, over 5,000 former CNRP commune seats were reallocated by the NEC and the majority thereof (4,548) went to the CPP.

The remaining seats were distributed among the other six political parties as follows: Funcinpec 239, Khmer National United Party 201, Cambodian Nationality Party 10, Cambodia Youth Party 3, Cambodia Indigenous People Democracy Party 3.


Previous Article

Kampot classmates collapse

Next Article

Youth programme to respond to environment challenges launched